Do you have a flair for lens flare?

Are you into Sci-Fi like we are in my family?  Are you team Star Wars or Star Trek (massive debates are held on this subject all the time)?  Personally, I like both but if I have to pick one… Star Trek wins in my heart.

The director JJ Abrams has infamously apologized for the amount of lens flare in Star Trek:  Into Darkness.  He used the effect so much during filming that several times the lens flare had to be removed in post-production!  There are still reportedly over 700 instances of lens flare in the movie (I haven’t counted myself).  There’s a lens flare ‘spin-off’ in a Leonard Nemoy/Zachary Quinto (old Spock, new Spock) Audi commercial!

http://www.starwarsunderworld.com posted this awesome meme:

JJ Abrams

According to Wikipedia, Lens flare is the light scattered in lens systems through generally unwanted image formation mechanisms, such as internal reflection and scattering from material inhomogeneities in the lens.   Blah, blah, blah.  I did not get this concept until it was too late – I thought.

My sister Janna and her husband, Lucio.  Aren't they gorgeous together?

My sister Janna and her husband, Lucio. Aren’t they gorgeous together?

My sister got married in San Francisco in February, 2013.  It was a whirlwind as they only got engaged ten days earlier!  My parents were already in California visiting.  Both my sisters live in the Bay area so my parents like to visit them in the winter.  It’s not usual for them to go from single degree F temps in western New York to 60-70F in California.  I wasn’t planning on going to cross-country, but then my sister called and said, “Hey, we’re getting married on Wednesday.  Wanna come?”

CA coastline near Santa Cruz

CA coastline near Santa Cruz

The wedding was fabulous, and I was in California in February.  Woo hoo!  My parents and I went on a little road trip along the coast for sight-seeing.  Naturally, I was taking photos left and right.  I owned lens hoods for each of my lenses, but I was still in a western New York mindset and not sunny California.  It was -9F in Chicago when I had to change planes (and go outside O’Hare).  I never put a lens hood on, and I thought I was getting photos that I could turn into postcards.  My heart sunk when I got home and started editing all the files from the road-trip.  The Pigeon Point Lighthouse images were ruined because lens flare was all over (what would have been) the best shots.  So sad.  I left those images alone for a LONG time.

What, lens flare?!  Boo!  I thought this was going to be a post card.

What, lens flare?! Boo! I thought this was going to be a post card.

Recently, I went through my computer files from this trip.  My mindset had changed and all of a sudden I LOVED the lens flare on these images.  In two more years I might hate them again.  Opinions change.  But now these images make me happy and I hope you enjoy them, too.

Oh, lens flare.  It looks so great!

Oh, lens flare. It looks so great!

Leave a Reply

